Local Heroes Celebrated For Outstanding Contribution To Oxfordshire Tennis

with No Comments






Joe Cartledge (Venue of the Year), Nina Graveson-Bridges (Lawn Tennis Association), George Adzhikov (Coach of the Year), Alison Jackson (Outstanding Volunteer of the Year), Mark Rowe and Steve Thompson (Club of the Year – Wantage LTC) and Neil Morgan. NB (Steve Bell who won Volunteer of the Year was not present at the evening).


Tennis Oxfordshire is delighted to announce the local heroes who have been honoured as part of the AEGON British Tennis Awards.

Alison Jackson has been named Outstanding Volunteer of the year for Oxfordshire after giving many years of service to the game.

Other winners include Parks Tennis who are celebrating being awarded the best venues in the county for tennis, based on criteria such as coaching, opportunities to play and compete.
They are all now in the running to be awarded a national award, which could see them collect a £5,000 facility grant.

George Adzhikov, winner of the Coach of the Year Award, commented:” I want to say thank you to Tennis Oxfordshire and all the people who nominated me for this award. It is a great pleasure to be announced as Coach of the Year and I really appreciate it.”

At the Awards ceremony held last night ( 9 March), Nicky Maskens, chairman of Tennis Oxfordshire said:
”The standard of entries was really high and we’d like to congratulate all of the winners for their achievement. The judges had a tough job to select winners due to the overwhelming contribution made at tennis venues across the county. It is heartening to award those who put so much effort behind offering great tennis opportunities for all in Oxfordshire.”

The awards are a joint initiative between The Lawn Tennis Association (LTA), the Tennis Foundation, partner AEGON and 40 county/national tennis associations, including Oxfordshire. The Awards recognise and champion the people who deliver tennis in communities across the country.

A full list of local winners are:

• Coach Award: George Adzhikov
• Club Award: Wantage Lawn Tennis Club
• Community Award: Oxford City Council/Parks Tennis
• Volunteer Award: Steve Bell
• Outstanding Volunteer Award: Alison Jackson
The winners now go through to a regional judging panel with regional winners announced next month. The national ceremony will be held in London in the summer.

Note to Editors
Tennis Oxfordshire is part of the Lawn Tennis Association (LTA) and its remit is to help develop tennis across the county. This includes directing people living in the county as to where and how they can learn to play tennis, improve their game and how they can enjoy and benefit from the many excellent tennis clubs and top level coaches across Oxfordshire.