Oxfordshire Announces British Tennis Awards Winners

with No Comments

Individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to Oxfordshire tennis over the last year were recognised at the Tennis Oxfordshire AGM (25 February).

The British Tennis Awards have been set up to identify volunteers, coaches, tennis clubs, community centres and local parks who have gone the extra mile in encouraging people into the game.

All the winners will now go through to regional finals and potentially to the national final held at Wimbledon.

“The awards are an opportunity for us to recognise the wonderful work which goes on in Oxfordshire tennis and single out those people who encourage, motivate and inspire everyone involved in tennis – and without whom our sport just wouldn’t be what it is,” said Nicola Maskens, Chair of Tennis Oxfordshire.

The winners were (from left to right):

Ed Large : Community Award

Jack Rooney (representing NOLTC Men’s Team): Team Award

Jon Maskens: Coach Award

Jenny Robson: Lifetime Achievement Award

Jason Oliver: Abingdon LTC Club Award

Lyn Haslet-Hawkins: Volunteer Award

Alan Elbourne: Lifetime Achievement Award

King Alfred’s School : Tennis School Award

Catherine Jackson: Volunteer Award

Bianca Pallatt: Disability Award

Mat Hunter: Outstanding Contribution to Community Tennis Award

Callum West: Young Volunteer Award