LTA Tennis Awards – Nominations CLOSED

Want to recognize an outstanding individual, club or tennis venue in your network? In collaboration with the LTA, Tennis Oxfordshire is delighted to announce that nominations for the LTA Tennis Awards are now closed.

The County Awards will be announced on Monday 2nd March at the AGM.

Regional Award Winners – 2018

Two Oxfordshire tennis players have been selected as regional award winners in the British Tennis Awards for 2018.

Both now go forward to the LTA national finals.

Callum West, aged 15, was voted young volunteer of the year for the LTA East region and Jon Maskens, a tennis coach at Nuffield Health & Rackets, Oxford, is regional coach of the year.

Celebrating Success – 2018 County Awards

Individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to Oxfordshire tennis over the last year were recognised at the Tennis Oxfordshire AGM (25 February).

The British Tennis Awards have been set up to identify volunteers, coaches, tennis clubs, community centres and local parks who have gone the extra mile in encouraging people into the game.

All the winners will now go through to regional finals and potentially to the national final held at Wimbledon.

“The awards are an opportunity for us to recognise the wonderful work which goes on in Oxfordshire tennis and single out those people who encourage, motivate and inspire everyone involved in tennis – and without whom our sport just wouldn’t be what it is,” said Nicola Maskens, Chair of Tennis Oxfordshire.

The winners were (from left to right):

Ed Large : Community Award

Jack Rooney (representing NOLTC Men’s Team): Team Award

Jon Maskens: Coach Award

Jenny Robson: Lifetime Achievement Award

Jason Oliver: Abingdon LTC Club Award

Lyn Haslet-Hawkins: Volunteer Award

Alan Elbourne: Lifetime Achievement Award

King Alfred’s School : Tennis School Award

Catherine Jackson: Volunteer Award

Bianca Pallatt: Disability Award

Mat Hunter: Outstanding Contribution to Community Tennis Award

Callum West: Young Volunteer Award