LTA Tennis Awards – National Virtual Event

with No Comments

30 July 2020 19:00pm – watch the first ever virtual National LTA Tennis Awards ceremony

We’re excited to announce that for the first time ever, the LTA will be hosting the National LTA Tennis Awards ceremony virtually. The ceremony will be available to access for free on the LTA website, YouTube channel or Facebook page on 30 July at 19:00pm, where will be announcing our 18 inspirational national winners.

Hosted by Dave Rawlinson, President of the LTA, the event will be presented by Leon Smith OBE with a number of special guests announcing our awards, with some surprises along the way.

A tribute to Cathie Sabin OBE will be part of the hour long ceremony.

Even though Oxfordshire do not have any nominees, we hope that you can tune in and join the celebrations.

About the Awards

Each year, the LTA Tennis Awards highlight the incredible achievements and contributions of people across Britain.

Launched in 2015 with the help of former LTA president Cathie Sabin OBE, the awards recognise the many thousands of inspirational individuals involved in tennis, dedicating their precious time and energy; 25,000 volunteers, 4,672 coaches and 975 officials. They also highlight the incredible achievements of some 22,000 schools, 2,768 clubs and over 9,276 LTA approved tournaments. The contribution of these individuals and venues helps to bring fans and players closer to the game we all love.

Winners are judged from over 2,000 public nominations and are first judged by 38 County Associations, resulting in 380 County award winners who are then put forward for Regional awards. Finally, the Regional winners are put forward for the National LTA Tennis Awards alongside winners from Tennis Wales and Tennis Scotland.

At a National level, winners are celebrated alongside our Performance Awards including our Players of the year.